PC Hanwei place to buy

by Andy
(Toronto, Ontario, Canada)

This isn't really a question as it is a small update.

The sword mentioned on this page I bought it a while ago for a cheaper price. Not sure if you know of this site, but it does give quite a few 'great deals'. Here is the link to the particular sword:

and the site itself is as you can see above is http://www.888knivesrus.com/

Just a small tip, and if this info is totally useless to you, I apologize for wasting your time.

ANSWER: Hi Andy,

No its not a waste of time at all, and a valid observation.

As you know SBG tries to find the best deal for sword enthusiasts. But a deal can be a lot more than simply price, especially if there are other factors involved...

With regards to Hanwei, the sheer quantity of swords out there means that the chances of getting a lemon are a bit higher than normal. The place I recommend them at are maybe $10 or so more expensive, but they make up for this by their 90 day money back guarantee and pre-inspection policies, plus they price match. Hence, the recommendation. ;-)

The danger of ONLY buying at a place that has a low price is that quite a few of these guys are just 'low ballers' - in other words, they drop the price - and if you get the sword in good condition, great. But if there is a problem of any kind, they don't want to know you...

Btw - I'm not saying that the site you bought from is like that, but there are some real sharks out there who are... :-(


- Paul

Comments for PC Hanwei place to buy

Click here to add your own comments

Thank you
by: Anonymous

Thank you for your reply.
I guess I can see your point :D.
The site above is a good one and they are professional in their ways, but while looking around the web, I did find a few of those Shark Sites. Guess I need to think outside the box before posting a question.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask Questions About Japanese Swords.


Damascus Steel Sucks

Why cheap so called 'Damascus' steel (folded steel) swords are actually some of the WORST buys on the market. Don't believe the hype..

eBay Scams Exposed!

The article most China based eBayers don't want you to see.. The dirty tricks and deceptive practices of the worst sellers on eBay exposed..